“Waking Hours” by Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson

3 Oct

“Waking Hours” by Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson

On an early Friday morning the mangled body of a teenage girl is found in a local park of the Northern Westchester County. All the suspects of the murder are some teenagers who along with this girl, had attended a party, the strange part being none of them can remember what happened the night the girl was killed. Forensic psychiatrist Danielle Harris end up partnering up with Tommy Gunderson, an old high school friend, to solve this strange mystery, but they fear this might be more than just a teenage murder…something evil is occurring and they are determined to figure out what exactly it is.

Since the moment I read the summary of Waking Hours, I knew that this would be a captivating and suspenseful enigma. It was exactly that and more, but honesty I was a bit disturbed by the gruesome scenes described. Not that I haven’t read other books worse than this, because this doesn’t even fall into the “horror” category, but I just didn’t expect this from Christian fiction. The story was certainly compelling but at the end I was more than a tad paranoid and also somewhat disappointed.  Since the plot was absolutely fantastic, I had high expectations for all the other factors that configure a story, the characters could have been better in the sense that the reader can’t really connect with them, in my opinion the authors could have elaborated more on the characters’ emotions and also in dialogue. Other than that, the book was great. I recommend this to readers who enjoy some horror and suspense. I rate 4 stars.

Many thanks to Thomas Nelson publishers for providing me with a copy of this book to review.  I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine and mine alone.

To buy this book click Here

2 Responses to ““Waking Hours” by Lis Wiehl and Pete Nelson”

  1. carnival cruise baltimore October 23, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

    Just wish to say your article is as surprising. The clarity in your post is simply cool and i can assume you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  2. Dianna October 26, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    I am completely honest in my reviews and try to make them enjoyable for readers so thanks for commenting 🙂 Comments like yours let me know I’m doing alright with my postings.

Leave a Reply

