Amazing…Heartbreaking…Beautifully Written Story

9 May

“Interrupted” by Rachel Coker

In 1939- Since she was about ten years old Alcyone has had to care for her mother, and watch her slowly deteriorate because of the illness that is killing her.  Allie doesn’t mind taking care of her mother at all though; in fact her mother is all that is really important to her, so keeping her mother healthy and alive brings joy to Allie. So when Allie’s neighbor, Sam, comes over and Allie’s mom dies from a fall she can’t recover from; Allie blames Sam. She is then adopted but can’t move on from the past. She misses her mother and can’t accept that she is gone. Three years later Sam appears once again.

Throughout the years I’ve read numerous book and I’ve realized that even if I personally wasn’t fond of the book there are other people somewhere around the world who have read and loved the same book I disliked…Frankly there are few books that have really left me speechless; in my opinion there are only a couple of stories that really touch and get to each and every one of us. Honestly there are few stories/books that I feel have actually been worth my time, and I can truly say that “Interrupted” was most certainly one of these books.  It was a quick and easy read but it was much more than that. Coker did an excellent job with this novel, throughout the entirety of it I felt so many emotions, and I truly understood all the characters.  I felt so much heartache towards Allie for having had to watch her mother slowly die and going through so much, she was not the only one I felt for and gosh, I must admit that I cried more than once. It was beautifully written, and I loved how Coker integrated God in the story, she included beautiful scriptures directly from the bible which even I could relate to. I rate this book 5 stars.

Many thanks Zondervan Publishers for providing me with a copy of this book to review.  I was not required to write a positive review. All opinions expressed are mine and mine alone.

You Can Purchase A Copy Of This Book Here

2 Responses to “Amazing…Heartbreaking…Beautifully Written Story”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Review of Interrupted – life beyond words and Giveaway! | J. Keller Ford ~ Young Adult Fantasy Author - June 1, 2012

    […] Amazing…Heartbreaking…Beautifully Written Story (truthbetoldbookreviews.wordpress.com) Share this:EmailFacebookRedditDiggTwitterStumbleUponTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted in Book reviews and tagged book giveaway, Interrupted, Rachel Coker, Zondervan. Bookmark the permalink. ← Highly anticipated YA Novels to release in June 2012! […]

  2. Meet YA author, Rachel Coker, wordsmith of Interrupted: Life Beyond Words and Chasing Jupiter | J. Keller Ford ~ YA Fantasy Author - July 29, 2012

    […] Amazing…Heartbreaking…Beautifully Written Story (truthbetoldbookreviews.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

