“From This Moment” by Elizabeth Camden

27 Jul

About this book:

Romulus White has tried for years to hire illustrator Stella West for his renowned scientific magazine. She is the missing piece he needs to propel his magazine to the forefront of the industry.
But Stella abruptly quit the art world and moved to Boston with a single purpose: to solve the mysterious death of her beloved sister. Romulus, a man with connections to high society and every important power circle in the city, could be her most valuable ally.
Sparks fly the instant Stella and Romulus join forces, and Romulus soon realizes the strong-willed and charismatic Stella could disrupt his hard-won independence. Can they continue to help each other when their efforts draw the wrong kind of attention from the powers-that-be and put all they’ve worked for at risk?

My Thoughts:

I found this book very interesting, but I can’t say that it was anything special. I expected the heroine, Stella, to be strong and courageous but instead she came off as needy. I understand that Stella was grieving for her sister, but she couldn’t do anything by herself. If it weren’t for Romulus she wouldn’t have been able to succeed in finding any details on her sister’s death. I also an issue with Romulus, he was pompous, arrogant and mistreated Stella in several instances. I just didn’t enjoy this book and I think it’s because I didn’t like the characters. I wouldn’t really recommend this book, there are better out there. Although I will say that it is a short read so it didn’t take long to finish.

Thanks Bethany House for providing me with a free copy of this book for me to review. All opinions expressed are mine and mine alone.

You can purchase a copy of this book here

 

Leave a Reply

